Stuff You Can Buy
Other Stuff

Aircraft by Nation

United States
Navy/Marine Corps (1914 -1916)

Skip to the aircraft index

In 1914, the Navy realized that their existing designating system would become confusing as they procured more aircraft types from an increasing number of manufacturers.  That year they introduced a new system...a two letter to designate class and type.  The system still combined designation with serial number so each aircraft had a different designation.  All existing aircraft were re-designated.

The aircraft types were "A" for Heavier-than-air, "B" for Balloons, "D" for Dirigibles and "K" for Kite balloons.  The types within the Heavier-than-air class were "H" for Hydroaeroplane (seaplane), "B" for Flying boat and "X" for Amphibian.

Designation Aircraft Redesignated from
1911 AH-1 Curtiss Model D A-1

Return to Aircraft by Nation - United States


page updated 09 February 2003



Use of photographs | References  | Disclaimer | Privacy


Apple iTunes

free counters


Kenneth W Shanaberger 2000 - 2010